Nga Aho Whakaari AGM was held Saturday 18th November.
Pictured on the day is our Board responsible for taking us into 2018 and me, your Executive Director.

From top left to right is Piripi Curtis, Sharon Hawke, Haunui Royal, Eruera Morgan.
Front left to right: Erina Tamepo, Chair Christina Asher, Anahera Higgins and Tamalene Painting.

Missing from this photo is Michele Bristow who skyped in for our meeting and Hanelle Harris.

Todd Karehana recently resigned as he will be travelling soon. It has been fantastic to watch Todd grow in his role as director and writer and we have appreciated his energy, ideas and enthusiasm for his role as a board member.

It has been a busy and eventful year in screen media and for our organization; some standout moments include working alongside Te Tumu Whakaata Taonga (NZFC) to help with the creation of the tangata-whenua strategy to help build Maori capacity and capability in film. Te Mangai Paho are responding to the new delivery platforms and changes are expected. Whakaata Māori have a new CE and new premises. We have much to celebrate including the Ramai Hayward Scholarship which was awarded to Briar Grace Smith and Rachel House, each received $50,000 from the NZFC to help develop their film scripts and directing skills with the goal of directing their feature films. Our Ngā Aho shorts are on track with two completed this year and the third is is in post-production now. Another series of shorts are on the horizon for 2018. We have another exciting year ahead and we encourage all of you to take advantage of ongoing workshops to further hone your craft, this industry is on the cusp of great change and we all need to remain relevant. If you are not yet a member, never fear, you can join at any time.